crossed

I let my hair grow out long
I do my job and get things done
I eat and drink and take my fill
and let the rain wash out the spill
but it’s only something to do
to fill the void between me and you

I wear my smile and stand up tall
and brace against the coming fall
I think things over and I decide
and end up taking it in stride
but it’s only something to do
to fill the void between me and you

I ask questions and wonder why
I look for answers far and wide
I do in bursts and build in weeks
what for others would take years
but it’s only something to do
to fill the void between me and you

I sit hiding in sun
and force the time to have some fun.
I make up tales and jot down rhymes
and make like nothing spoils my wine
but it’s only something to do
to fill the void between me and you

And every word, every breath, every thought
is moving further from where we crossed
each other’s path, to carry on, each apart

lines are sad
lines are sad
One thought on “crossed

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

