shedding skin

I boarded with you
I walked with you at my side all day

I tried to leave you in that room
With the animal skin rug
Amongst the plush towels and bed that moulded around my weight like butter

I sloughed you off and placed you next to the bits of second skin
I’d ripped off my blistered disappointment
Revealing the pink flesh of my new attempt
As ridiculous as the last
But at least it forced me to put you down
Long enough to forget to retrieve you before I left

Please don’t follow me home

your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

