due warning

That line we cunningly set up?
We sure pulled it taught between us
maintaining a respectable distance
with room to leave so much hanging
where no one could see

And when it started to give
I shifted and twisted
struggling to keep balance
while picking up your slack
I even turned and leaned in
using the counterweight
to face away

I step back and in again
to get better footing
Or give a calculated tug
to let you know I’m holding
more than my share
without giving up the tension
so possibilities can easily flow
but still it gives to time and gravity

Our lofty intentions growing
heavier with the weather
bend towards the dirt
I’ve only inches left
before I let go

your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

