seesaw

As long as you held your ground
leaving me dangling up there
I slid towards you
If you leaned way forward
the balance would easily tip
I’d touch the ground briefly
and for an instant
you would hang
ready to slide towards me

Up and down we go
again and again
Sometimes stopping midway
to reassess or take stock
(of those waiting for us to come home)
before starting another round

And now again
we’ve found that uneasy equilibrium
We stare each other down
tauntingly
Though you outweigh me
and could set me in motion
whenever you choose
I wonder if you’ve noticed
I’m no longer swinging my legs
and bouncing in my seat
to tip you to my side
It may seem
like I’m at your mercy
or simply resigned
But really I’m just deciding
when it would be best
to step off

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

