falling

I’ve had it with falling
falling down
falling into trouble
falling out of favour
nothing good comes of it

I’m gonna stick with climbing
climbing out of a rut
climbing up the ladder
climbing over obstacles
even climbing the walls
leads to something better

or perhaps, earning
earning trust
earning friendship
earning my fame, fortune or keep
all merits for my efforts at least

and Love?
I’ll just forego it
you can’t climb up, into,
over or out of it
and there’s just no way to earn it
(we’ve all tried)
only in or out,
and no matter the promise
you land on your face
I’m just not falling for it
anymore

your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

