in your stead

What was that thing
I thought we shared
the one where only I was there
I gave and forgave
while you took and mistook
’til the truth I could not bear

Hanging on exhaled sighs 
I turned grunts into verse
and for empty tired eyes
I drew a universe

I filled in the landscape
with colours and forms
I crafted the story
and gilded it with scorn

I’d ask your forgiveness
but if truth be told
it cost more than you’ll know
to spin this to gold

How I made a meal of garbage
and shoved it down my throat
stealing from your dumpster
all I would need to grow

And not until I’ve offered
all the bile that is left
will I be free to eat again
without the need for theft

your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

