lament

I keep throwing things in the air
hoping they’ll take flight
but they plummet
to the ground
And round and round I go again
scraping up against the grain
And I am, as I remain, alone
Watching people come and go
as if my presence can overthrow
a history of gravity
mired in depravity

The music strains
its way to ears
filled with chatter
Your smile, your smile
is all that matters
though it now belies
nothing more
than goodbye
when it shines
my way

But it’s getting cold
and I’m too old
to be bold enough to explode
onto the scene

The musicians take the stage
and their guitars wage
war on my raging
indifference
to the drums’ clatter
Your smile, your smile
is all that matters
though it now belies
nothing more
than goodbye
when it shines
my way

What wouldn’t I forgive
for a chance to relive
that moment I clenched you
like a holy grail
to quench my thirst
and purge my worth
of need

But the plot flails
under dreams now too frail
to withstand failing
at love again

One thought on “lament

Add yours

your thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

