handling it

I long to walk away for a while
and free myself of you
But I recently learned
about the unique nature
of a non Newtonian liquid
How the only way to hold it
is to constantly keep grasping at it
handling it, shaping it, 
If you relax for a second
to get a good look,
to judge its weight and mass
or just appreciate its form
It will slip through your fingers
and spill everywhere
leaving a mess
that cannot be wiped
or soaked up
like other spills
But will require frantic handling
to force it into a form
that can be swept up again

So I keep juggling you
teasing you, groping you
but won’t dare put you down
and step back
for fear I’ll never
be able to hold you whole again

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

