in between 

Sprinting between perspectives
keeps me agile
but wears at me in ways
lying still and lying
through gritted teeth
never could
Between maybe and shouldn’t
flows a misery
of anticipation forlorn

Anyway, I’m rarely torn
enough to make
a decisive incision
with any precision
to cut to the source
of crude words you spew forth
and let hang like loose threads
unwary of their marring effect

I used to rush to tuck them in
buying time to attend
to the mending
of the image rendered
for my amusement

But now I only secretly wish
I had the courage
to pull them and unravel
the flimsy rag
we have carelessly woven
with words unspoken
and token gestures
that can never atone
for the gaps in between

your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑