bloodletting

I am fixed
in anticipation
denying trepidation
at the next step
that won’t come
until we’re done
with preparations of
aligning expectations
and have found within
a common source
of redemption
to absolve the crime

I am numbed
by your expression
that leaves the impression
of ice on warm skin
You lose form
as I freeze within
I brace for the pain
of the thaw
but it’s only my jaw
that hurts
worse than it should

I am stunned
by the precision
with which you make
your incision
into that part so scarred
and marred
a perfect target
for one looking
to leave no mark

I am struck dumb
steeped of words
to explore
my now hollow core
or express
my distress
at having mutely acquiesced
to this bloodletting

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

