it’s OK and I’m alright

It’s OK and I’m alright
I made it through another night
Tears fell like rain
Fears rolled like thunder
I sought thoughts to grasp
And pull me out from under
The ruins and rubble
Of pillows and sheets
That started out neat
But conspired in the night
to choke me

I lie in the dark
Imagining time
Is a balloon I can squeeze
To bring the past next to now
and touch you again

But it’s OK and I’m alright
It’s just another stormy night
I’ll rock my body
Into the day
And you will never hear me say
How I did my best
Yet still failed
Every test
Like a schoolgirl well-versed
in the virtue of rehearsal
Believing that fate
would take care of the rest

2 thoughts on “it’s OK and I’m alright

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

