the price of preservation

The Swiss are covering glaciers
with blankets to preserve them
from climate change
I’m doing the same
with these towering memories

I forego trampling through
to find evidence
or an artefact
worth treasuring
that erosion could reveal

Perhaps on a better day
I will unveil them
and see their splendour
unworn unsullied
undiminished
by my ruminations

For now I fear even a peek
would cause irreparable damage
And all I would find
would be my own footsteps
circling aimlessly

your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

