notes from the sidelines

I’ve never been discovered
though I’ve been revealed
Never acknowledged
though nudged towards some seat
at the edge of the table
with no turn to speak

I’ve never been spotted
among the stars
or turned all heads
when I entered a bar
But I’ve been invited
to kindly take part
to fill dusty spaces
in vacated hearts
while they waited
for better options

So I never wager
but do what I can
And play in the sidelines
where few dare to glance
And if you should ever
catch my wandering eye
don’t ask me to smile
or give thanks for your time
Just take what you need
without blocking the sun

your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

